Hours and Locations
Bibliocommons Login

Library Board

St. Albert Public Library is governed by a Board of seven volunteer trustees. Trustees are appointed by City Council for a 3-year term, with a 2 term maximum. The Board governs the Library under the authority of the Alberta Libraries Act.

The Board meets at 7:00 p.m. the third Wednesday of the month from September through June at the Library.

For more information, please contact Peter Bailey, CEO, St. Albert Public Library at 780-459-1681.


Library Board Members 2021

Janice MarschnerJanice Marschner

Chair. Janice moved here with her family in 2010 and they are all avid users of the Library's many services. Janice teaches high school English. She joined the Board in 2016 and takes an active interest in her city and the people in it. She is passionate about maintaining and improving library access for all.

Melissa SteevesMelissa Steeves

Missy and her family moved to St. Albert in 2017. Missy enjoys attending the children’s events at the library with her son. Missy is a humanities teacher and is passionate about literacy. She is an avid lifelong learner, and is currently completing her doctorate in education. Missy is looking forward to serving on the library board, building collaborative relationships, and continuing to be actively involved in the community.

Holly AyotteHolly Ayotte

Holly has lived in St, Albert since 1983. She has two daughters and the three of them are frequent library visitors and avid readers. Holly is a Director of Human Resources with the Government of Alberta and is looking forward to working with the board in supporting the library and community.

William WellsWilliam Wells

Bill moved to St. Albert in 2013 and is honoured to be able to contribute to the community as a member of the Library Board. Bill was most recently an instructor at the University of Alberta. Libraries, their programs and services, are a cornerstone of a democracy and Bill hopes that his diverse experience in the management of provincial NGOs in Alberta and Saskatchewan as well as his experience as an elected official and a library board member in Saskatchewan will strengthen his contribution.

Colleen McClure Colleen McClure

Vice-chair. Colleen has lived in St. Albert with her family since 1993 and is honored to have the opportunity to serve the citizens of St Albert as a member of the Library Board. In 2016 Colleen retired from full-time employment as an Associate Superintendent of Schools and is currently employed part-time as a consultant, tutor and academic coordinator. She believes public libraries play a major role in democratic societies in fostering literacy, providing universal access to knowledge and information and nurturing lifelong learning. Colleen is keen to work in collaboration with others to support the St. Albert Public Library as a welcoming, dynamic place of discovery and engagement for all community members and visitors.

Julie StefnerJulie Stefner

Julie has lived in St. Albert her entire life and she has always been an active member of her community. She is currently taking her Bachelor of Elementary Education at the University of Alberta. Julie loves reading and enjoys all the resources the library has to offer. She is pleased to support her community by serving on the Library Board. 

David HlokoffDavid Hlokoff

David has practiced as a Registered Nurse since graduating from the University of Alberta in 2013. As an advocate for eliminating barriers to health equity, he is grateful for the opportunity to contribute to the Library Board, where ensuring access to education and information can contribute to that goal.  David is a lifelong lover of literature and all the services public libraries provide.